08
Apr
11

Mellow Yellow Zero…….why

As I type this, sitting on the floor next to me, is a bottle of Coke’s new diet drink, Mellow Yellow Zero. I was very surprised when I noticed this product sitting in the drink cooler of Urban Market.  I alway thought of Mellow Yellow just being a drink for people who like regular soda. I never thought there would be a demand for a zero calorie version.

Despite my preconceptions, I went ahead and bought a bottle.  Upon first inspection,  it looks very similar to the original. The color of the liquid  is only a little darker . If it wasn’t for the black label, I could easily mistake this for regular Mellow Yellow.  The visual comparison is where the similarities end.

The test is awful.  You first get hit with something that tastes like  a watered down citric drink mixed that’s been left open for so long, there is barely any carbonation. Two seconds late, you get hit with this horrid aftertaste that reaches all the way up to the bridge of your nose and makes you slightly nauseous. It seems like they just went through they same process they use to make coke zero, without getting people the taste test it before it went into production. It just this awful sensation that lingers for way too long.

Basically, Mellow Yellow Zero tastes bad. Don’t buy it.

2 Responses to “Mellow Yellow Zero…….why”


  1. 1 dave
    October 27, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    disagree. it’s the only thing that can ALMOST substitute for the loss of my beloved Vault Zero.

  2. 2 Tim
    November 7, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    I like it too. There is just barely a difference in taste to regular Mello Yello. The only way that you wouldn’t like it, is if you didn’t like the regular Mello Yello. I also like Coke Zero and Sprite Zero. Diet Dew and Diet A&W root beer and cream soda are alright too. All have the same sweeteners….


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

